Flirting with Citrus

9 Dec

Salad, Horiatiki Salata

Spinach Rice, Spanakorizo

Lemons are in season with each lemon priced at 98 cents each in major supermarkets. I couldn’t go past the bright yellow fruits so I bought two of them. Then came the dilemma: What can I do with the lemons?

Lemon cheesecake was a good idea, so was lemon meringue and even lemon pavlova. I tried sticking to stir-fry and thought of lemon chicken. However, I haven’t been my best lately, often feeling lethargic after work and those lemony ideas required too much effort.

So, I decided to up the stakes and tried making some Greek dishes. Greeks love their feta, olives and lemon. The citrus fruit is a component in many Greek dishes. A while ago, Steven’s mum was generous enough to impart me with the recipe of Greek spinach rice, a dish her son enjoy. This warm and hearty dish, similar to risotto, works well as a side or main. Most importantly, it is a simple and quick meal.

Horiatiki Salata, is another Greek dish that is unique, in that you can’t find any lettuce in it (Yay!). Authentic Greek Salad is not meant to be exquisite. It is a rough country dish made up of sliced cucumber, juicy tomatoes, red onions, kalamata olives, capsicum and topped with feta cheese. The dressing is simple as can be: Dried Greek oregano, white vinegar, olive oil and of course, lemon juice. The dish is refreshing and just like the spinach rice, makes a refreshing side or a healthy bite anytime of the day.

The ingredients for these dishes are accessible in big major supermarkets and they make for a quick and easy meal. Not much of spices are needed and there’s no need to wash five pots, pans and bowls after. I love my stir-fries. But, quick, easy and healthy are my three cooking mantra suitable to my lifestyle now.

*Recipes will be posted soon.

Leave a comment