Ahoy!

17 Oct

I now have a love-hate relationship with theme parties. They are fun and I enjoy searching for costume inspiration. But they also take a lot of effort and sometimes $$$ as well.

I am fortunate and honoured to be invited to two such parties. One is a nautical/ from the sea theme, which we can dress up as anything that has to do with the sea. The other one is Moulin Rouge/ Chicago theme.

The nautical theme party is this coming Friday. Invitations were sent out ages ago so we have a lot of time to prepare. But being tied down with cash and time, I only started shopping for costumes last week. It is great that Spring/ Summer collections in retails are out. So it’s all red/ blue and white stripes.

After comparing prices and shopping everywhere (Chadstone, Southland, Melbourne Central, DFO South Wharf, Bourke Street Mall), I bought the key item to my costume in Supre: A cute  navy blue mini skirt with gold buttons in front for $30.

My initial plan was to pair it with a white shirt, make a name tag and pass off as a cruise staff:

But I found a cute top that goes really well with the skirt as well and now I prefer this combination:


But I don’t look like a cruise staff anymore 😦 I am going to try and pass off as a 50s navy pin-up. But that might require a sailor hat, curls, red lipstick and lots of make-up.

Nevertheless, I am still happy with my purchase because I can see myself wearing the skirt for other occasions. Not to mention there will be an after-party in a club on Friday and the skirt is suitable for clubbing as well.

While I was ransacking my closet for the perfect top, I found the maxi dress I bought in Malaysia. This is the perfect outfit for a 21st birthday party I have a week after the nautical theme one:


The party will be held at a football club (function hall) so I would love to wear something more classy. I reckon it will be perfect for Melbourne Cup Day too. My only concern is there will be a dance floor and maxi dress is not tailored for flexible movement.

Anyway, I am still wondering what am I going to be for the nautical theme party. First combo or second combo? My last-minute solution will be to explain myself as facing a case of identity confusion.

Leave a comment